Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Muzzlebreak vs mod

Muzzlebreak vs mod

Would a good muzzlebreak do all that a good mod would do? If not how much does a muzzlebreak reduce muzzle flip and noise.
    Looking on youtube an american custom firm swear by them and I like the idea of reducing front end weight aused by a conventional mod.
    Comments welcome - I have no experience of them.
    Have a good Xmas

Distinguished Member tartinjock's Avatar
    I've never heard that a muzzle brake reduces noise.........

They do reduce flip though, but you might not be welcome on a range with one.

TJ
    Position and hold must be firm enough to support the firearm
    The firearm must point naturally at the target without any undue physical effort
    Sight alignment (aiming) must be correct
    The shot must be released and followed through without disturbing the position

Muzzle brakes reduce flip and recoil and will alienate you if you shoot alongside anyone else unless you are shooting with the 50cal club. They do nothing to protect your hearing. A moderator will do everything a brake does to almost the same degree.
    There are some horror stories out there about reticles being damaged by the fitting of mod's but I don't know if the same is true about brakes.
    I had a .270 that jumped hugely on firing that became a much nicer beast with a mod on.
    There are many claims made for brakes but there are not many published scientific facts published regarding the noise reduction for the shooter/bystanders.
    In the U.K with run of the mill calibers mods outnumber brakes by 20-1 there is probably a good reason for that.

Muzzle brakes do not reduce noise, in fact in some cases they increase it.
    They do however reduce recoil and muzzle flip but are an abomination to anyone at either side of the shooter.
    Most benefit would be gained in a rapid-fire situation but for general sporting purposes I see little need.

HWH.

Wherabouts are you W16OEN.