Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mixing different brands of brass

Mixing different brands of brass

Evening all
    I have a really quick question. Can one use different brands of brass all loaded the same and still get consistent groups. I am loading .308 and have lots of shells made by different manufacturers and want to mix them up but use the same loads. any help would be awesome. I used to load a lot of pistol stuff in this way and never had any hassles, but I am new to this rifle loading thing so don't want to waste.

Kindly
    Donovan
    Donovan

FEAR NOT THAT WHICH YOU HAVE NO CONTROL OVER

You can mix it if you wish but as different brass does not always have the same internal capacity group size could be affected so why add another variable to the proceedings.
    Neck tension may also be different.

HWH.

my R93's dont seem fussy, any old brass, full length sized, always shoots a good group.

I bought a bag of 100 pieces of brass and used the load I always used in the brand of brass named on the bag. One round made one hell of a bang and split. Closer inspection revealed two brands of brass had been mixed in the bag prior to my purchasing it. I would recommend working up loads in each brand of brass you own checking for pressure as you go.
    The internal volume of brands of brass can vary considerably, therefore the pressure generated will vary with a fixed volume of powder and so will the velocity of the round. At best the mixed rounds will not be consistant, at worst you may get a nasty surprise. Proceed with care.

The thickness of the brass can have some effect but at normal stalking ranges wont make that much differnce i have found but i do now use the same brass Lapua and i like to know that every thing is uniform that way if i cock up i know its me.

Quote Originally Posted by 6pointer View Post
    The thickness of the brass can have some effect but at normal stalking ranges wont make that much differnce.
    Ouch,