Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Advice needed

Advice needed

Advice needed! , I am a novice stalker who only took up the sport in July last year after reading many of the posts on this forum.
    I am 100% hooked and am keen to become more proficient at stalking and stalk more.
    Starting from scratch, I have already taken my DSC level one and have a shiny new FAC with a 6.5 55 on the way.
    So as most people who are reading this will have been in my shoes at some point in in the past, I thought I would ask how best to proceed from here?.
    If you were in my shoes what would you do to become a better stalker and increase your opportunities to stalk without wasting time and money (I have a wife and kids who already waste my time and money!)
    Any advice would be appreciated!!!

What i would do is a i would get my self comfortable with my rifle and find out what you can do with it (consistantly) Then i would get hold of as many chaps off here who take out guests and get out with them as much as possible.At this time of year you can get a three hour stalk for as little as 50 - 60 pounds. What you will learn on them stalks will stand you in good sted for your future stalking. Then after a good few deer then you can progress to do lev2 and get your own stalking to manage.

hi,

first of all happy new year and welcome.
    the advice you require cannot be given as a set rule of how things will go for you.
    we all have had different luck and meet different people as we go.
    i would first of all say that keep an eye out for local lads to you try and meet up.
    getting to know your neighbours is always a good start.
    look also for let days to get your toes wet as they say
    there is many decent chaps on here offering good days out close to you.
    get involved in general conversations and if you have something to say, say it..
    i wish you the best in 2011

frank

Presumably since you have a ticket you also have land where you can shoot?