Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Different casings affecting seating depths?

Established Poster

Different casings affecting seating depths?

Guys, I am new to the relaoding game and experimenting with the press and dies etc.
    I have used the lock-n-load gauge and comparator (0.308) and obtained the distance to the lands/ogive etc and therfore the required bullet (ogive) length.
    Now my question is, does using differing manufactures brass casings affect the desired bullet seating depth or is there something I am doing wrong?
    I have some Winehester brass and get 90% consistency in seating depth, however, when changing over to Privi and Federal brass, without changing any set up I have, the bullet seating depth is quite a ways off.....any advice greatly appreciated.
    Thanks, Jd.

Established Poster
    Muir, I have measure COAL to be 2.284, backed off to 2.264 for the jump, this is what I set die for on the Winchester casings, then when using PP and Federal the seating depth is much greater, COAL in the region of 2.235 to 2.245 dependant on whether it was a Privi or Federal (all once fired cases). Maybe this is acceptable QA but I would have thought the tolerance to be a little tighter than that.
    Thanks, Jd.
    Last edited by oilmanjd; 12-01-2011 at 13:52. Reason: wasn't a clear description of Federal and Privi

They should be tighter. That is too much. Are you certain that you have the does set correctly? It should be within a few-four thousandths.~Muir