Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Leave the bucks for now??

Leave the bucks for now??

Am i right in this way of thinking? I`ve not got a mass of acres to shoot on and with the two bucks on monday, i think it`s a good time to not shoot any for a while. October 31 is a long way off and my thinking is to leave the bucks to their shagging for now, i can always bag a few later on.
    This would still allow me to practise calling them (which i`ve never done before) I can still learn without having the rifle in my hands.
    What are your opions please.
    basil.

Hi basil

i'm no expert but from what i have heard from very experianced deer stalkers is that the Does will call more bucks into their teritory. It makes sense to me.

i must admit in the past i have had the same feelings towards the bucks where i shoot.

However i have also heard that shooting the main Alpha Dog buck is also a bad thing because there is a possibility for the Does to all get upset and possibly move to another area.

2 conflicting ideas from different people but i am always learning myself and will probably stand corrected after some more ppl post.

hi basil
    this next 4weeks approx should be the best time to get to grips with any of those old and difficult bucks you may or may not of seen that probaly may fit into a cull plan that you are thinking about setting up
    this time of year they only hav one thing on their mind
    and if you were to leave some of these old or lesser quality bucks on the ground then your breeding plan for better quality beasts will be delayed a year or so
    my advice is to keep stalking and shooting any old and going back bucks aswell as yearlings and bucks upto 4 points unless they look a lot better than the ones you culled in your article
    as the bucks are coming in for the females and after the rut most of them will leave any way ,you won't hav many more bucks to stalk after than you had before the rut