Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Neck Shot

Neck Shot

Guys, I'm just an amature stalker and need a bit of advice.

I have been stalking for 6 years. There are only 140 odd deer in the game book, so not a great deal of experience, but I am getting better....slowly.

For my sins I am a bit of a techy. I reload pretty successfully and enjoy playing calibres and trying out new ideas.

Until 3 years ago everything I shot was through the vitals. Since then if it's inside 100 and i'm confident with the rest I shoot neck. Probably 50/50 these days.

I fully understand the dangers of the neck shot but to reduce the carcass damage (because I butcher it all myself for consumption of friends and family and hate the waste) I want to get to the stage where I can take everything in the neck. To shoot consistently in the neck a bit further out I am thinking about a faster flatter very accurate round. I would however need the option of a rib shot if it came to it.

A barrel switch on my 6.5 Lapua to 6mm Lapua enables me to shoot very accutately (I hope for .3 moa like the 6.5) a 70 grain Nosler or Blitzking at 3700 fps. This should give me the tool for the job I want to do.

I know a number of guys in scotland who shoot all their hinds with a 22/250 and 55 grain bullets so I know its not a new concept. They also shoot the same round through the ribs if the neck is not an option, just ensuring they don't hit the shoulder.

A small fast bullet that does not exit and unloads 100% of it's energy in the carcass on the several occasions I have witnessed it has been very effective, although everything you read says you shouldn't do it.

Does anyone have experience of putting a 70 grain 6mm bullet through the ribs? If so what sort of failure rate do you get?

Just trying to do some homework before I make a move.

what is a failure?

22.250 for hinds ????

Quote Originally Posted by NigelM View Post