Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Spikes?

Spikes?

Although it is somewhat controversial, most in the US believe that spikes, or small 'spike-ish' 18 month whitetail bucks are inferior and should be harvested. There are some exceptions, but generally in Texas, this is the rule. I know that I'm talking in generalities here. Are most Roe, fallow and sika spikes at 18 months, or might they have small 'racks'? capt david

I am no expert on fallow or Sika, its quite normal for Red and Roe to be spikes at that age, a lot depends on the quality of food available, as a general rule with Roe if spikes are less than the length of ears cull, if longer than the ears then it has potential.

Not sure on fallow but red are generally a spiker as but with the roe pending on area ie food supply they can differ. Im in a very good quality area for roe buck trophy quality & i get 1yrs old spikers to quite common 4"-6" 4 pointers & odd small 6 pointers. As bogtrotters says my main cull is yearlings which are button/spikers but i also take into account the territory that they are keeping ie next/in between a couple big bucks etc so i dont just cull on head i look at body mass first head/territory etc if i can with the ground i have but some bits i have to cull all that come in.

Quote Originally Posted by captdavid View Post
    Although it is somewhat controversial, most in the US believe that spikes, or small 'spike-ish' 18 month whitetail bucks are inferior and should be harvested. There are some exceptions, but generally in Texas, this is the rule. I know that I'm talking in generalities here. Are most Roe, fallow and sika spikes at 18 months, or might they have small 'racks'? capt david
    Must be a Texas thing. In Montana you either shoot them or not... but then, we don't have "managed" hunting ranches to the extent that you folks do.~Muir