Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hard mouthed

Hard mouthed

I'm very new to deer training dogs and I'd like my new GWP to become a good alrounder I just a little concerned that the dog will at some time become hard mouthed on birds and wildfoul after contact with deer.
    Has anyone else had this problem as it may effect which side of training Istart with first.

Thanks in advance Charlie

My last wire did everything I asked of her with no problems.

never play tug. soft mouth is an inherited trade. It is the tightness of the mouth when it carries something. If you thing a dog that can lift an egg undamaged can crunch bone. However playing tug teaches the dog to tighten his/her mouth. Not in the carry but usually in the give.
    Jim

Athur my wirehaired Vizla. Tracks and holds deer.I play tug of war with a deeskins after the find in training and have done so during his basic training to encourage him to hold the deer.After the find in training he is allowed to carry the skin for a short distance ,then is told to give. The command being "dead". Praise then follows.The dog if you have done the obediance basics, will know the difference between play and the giving of the prey/bird/skin to the boss.
    As for hardmouth, he is used as a paid picking up dog on two commercial shoots three times a week during the season,so the ragging or tug of war play causing hard mouth is not something I and many others would subscribe to.
    Teach your dog to bring the skin to you and give to you.You are the pack leader.
    This is one of the many differences between a trained deer dog and one that just find dead deer.
    I would strongly advise that you attend the next NGO or BMH Soc training days there you will meet likeminded people with a variety of dogs at various stages of training
    www.muntjactrading.co.uk
    Kit

Quote Originally Posted by wag View Post