Thanks to Mr Wayne Davies

Adamant

After an invitation a couple of weeks ago from Wayne, a select group of the SD's finest were to be found gathered around his barbecue yesterday evening, scoffing burgers and sausages in preparation for an evening's Muntjac culling in a nearby wood. The group consisted of Wayne and his oppo' Andy, Roedinator, Wint, 243varmint, Flytie, Richard-Gun, Gadget and myself. I already knew a few of the group and had bumped into others at the CLA or the Midland but it is always to put names to faces and meet new SD members in person. Gadget and I had hot-footed it back from northeast Scotland a few hours before, so this was a very pleasant way to round off an excellent weekend's stalking.

After a rigorous briefing that consisted of 'shoot everything that isn't wearing a cagoule', we headed off to the wood a few miles away. I've been driving past these woods for the last ten years, wondering who shot in them. I now know that the answer to this, and to the same question asked of any land for several miles around them, is WAYNE DAVIES :lol:

The idea of the evening was to assist Wayne and Andy with their Muntjac cull by placing the rifles in highseats on the rides around the woods. The cover was already very high and the best chance of shooting these elusive little deer was to wait for them to appear on the open rides - they have a habit of crossing the rides rather than walking along them, so you need to be alert and ready to take a quick shot before they slip back into cover on the opposite side.