Thread: S & B 8x56 anygood for lamping foxes 200yrd + ?

S & B 8x56 anygood for lamping foxes 200yrd + ?

Hi guys! i know this subject is probably worn out! but i'm new to this.

I use a variable mag bushnell scope at the moment and have no problem shooting out to 200yrd with it set at 12x50 but after that i start to strugle under lamp light. would a s&b 8x56 be any better or do i need to gett a variable mag with a much higher magnification?

hi, i have said scope with a 25mm lens and i shot a charlie in the neck at 250yds dropped like a sack of *****... so from my experience yes they are good for lamping foxes at 200yds+!
    Regards, Jez.
    slowly slowly catch a monkey..

I have a S & B 2.5 - 10 x 56 Zenith iL for lamping and its usually set at between 6 and 8. works fine for me out to 200 for fox. hope that helps and welcome to the site.

Quote Originally Posted by Tikka243fox View Post
    Hi guys! i know this subject is probably worn out! but i'm new to this.

I use a variable mag bushnell scope at the moment and have no problem shooting out to 200yrd with it set at 12x50 but after that i start to strugle under lamp light. would a s&b 8x56 be any better or do i need to gett a variable mag with a much higher magnification?
    Not had any problems with fixed power scopes, (never had a variable power scope) i've got 8x56 schmit on my 243 shot foxes out to 250 no problems.

Yep many a fox got shot at 200+ with my s+b 8x56 pre swarov variable

dont wanna be a whinge bag, belly acher ,but as your new to i guess foxing try calling your charlies to get em in a bit closer ,no harm getting em in to say 100 150 especially the harvest cubs coming up soon ,the more educated 2nd hand foxs may need a longer shot later when your cooking on gas .not meaning this as a no it all goody goody just hope it helps a bit
    ps have x2 8x56 s/b hungarians 30mm tubes great scope for the dosh
    Last edited by norma 308; 15-06-2011 at 21:41.