Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: advice for first deer stalk/shoot

advice for first deer stalk/shoot

I am looking to go on my first deer stalk. At the moment I am emailing "stalkinginengland" and they can offer a stalk or shooting from a high seat.
    Have any of you been to them before? would you recommend them? Who would you recommend.

I would be using an estate rifle as I have not got a caliber for deer.

I am trying to gain knowledge and experience, then I will buy my own deer rifle, so that I can do some stalking colser to home on my permission.

thank you

I'm relatively new to this myself and I will give you some thoughts relating to my own experiences. They may not fit with your position but on the other hand if you find them useful that is worthwhile:

At the start try to go for hinds/does as they are less expensive and you can get more stalking for your cash.

Go as soon as you can - my only regret with regards to stalking is that I didn't do it sooner.

Go to Scotland for red deer on the hill - not always inexpensive when you factor in travel etc. but for me this is the ultimate in stalking experiences. People travel from across the world to do it so do it as soon as you can but again start with the hinds in winter.

If going to Scotland get as fit as you can before you go - on some estates this doesn't matter so much as they have quads and argos but on others you can do big miles on difficult ground. The days are shorter in winter so if you are less fit hinds might offer an easier option, though this is open to debate for various reasons :-)

Don't get too bogged down in fancy gadgets and "stuff" - all you need is decent boots, a good coat (I use mil surplus so this is inexpensive) and decent binoculars. Your guide will provide almost everything else except, perhaps, for lunch. You can add stuff as you need it and spread the cost over time.