Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Quad question

Quad question

Hello!

this is one for the technically minded of you. My quad (suzuki eiger) has started to struggle going uphill, it sounds as if the fuel doesn't feed properly, it starts coughing a bit and on steeper angles it almost sets out.

once I get back on more level ground, it 'catches' on again and whizzes away sounding just like it should.

any ideas?

Start with the basics, is it getting enough fuel of the right mixture, if I was you I would start with the air filter and fuel filter/supply.

John
    A clever man knows his strengths, a wise man knows his weaknesses

I can only agree with JB it sounds to me that either the air filter is blocked or the plug is breaking down under pressure.
    When I fixed Bikes for a living I had a Kawasaki Z1A come in with a misfire at 8000rpm in 5th gear and nowhere else = about 120mph it was caused by the air filter, fitted new one problem solved.
    AT THE AGE OF 50 I DECIDED I WAS GOING TO GROW OLD F***ING DISGRACEFULLY

open the drain screw on the carb might be some water in the carb

if it is struggling uphill and not at a particular rev range I would say it has more to do with being under load rather than not getting enough fuel/air.
    if it was a starvation issue it would do it on the flat when wide open as well.

I had an old banger that did this and it would miss on one cylinder under load, usually up hill.
    it turned out to be blowing oil (combination of rings and valve stem seals) and coating the spark plug with oil.

I would start with the basics, plugs leads, filters, fuel

Quote Originally Posted by bewsher500 View Post
    if it is struggling uphill and not at a particular rev range I would say it has more to do with being under load rather than not getting enough fuel/air.
    if it was a starvation issue it would do it on the flat when wide open as well.