Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What do you all mount your presses on?

What do you all mount your presses on?

I'm new to this game but one thing that seems certain is that the base I have mounted my press to isn't stiff or strong enough for the purpose.

At work I have a load of old machinery that is mounted on cast steel stands. I may have to borrow one of these.

What do you all mount your presses on, it seems a standard bench top isn't up to the job.

Quote Originally Posted by Gully View Post
    I'm new to this game but one thing that seems certain is that the base I have mounted my press to isn't stiff or strong enough for the purpose.

At work I have a load of old machinery that is mounted on cast steel stands. I may have to borrow one of these.

What do you all mount your presses on, it seems a standard bench top isn't up to the job.
    Mine is just mounted on a normal bench, has been for twenty years never been a problem.

Reloading Bench.

Kitchen work top which is bolted on to awork bench,if you spill any propellant easy to clean up.

If you tight for space as I am right now as I was when I first started I acquired a piece of heavy kitchen work top (a cut off) and mounted my press to this. The cut off can then be put onto a table, it's currently clamped to a 1950's TV stand. When i first started it was the kitchen table and put away in a cupboard when not in use. I use a couple of G-clamps to mount it with some wood packing to protect the stand/tables underside. Once I get a re-loading room/shed organised my work bench will be set up again with presses mounted ready for use.

SD Regular
    The cut off can then be put onto a table, it's currently clamped to a 1950's TV stand
    Like Brithunter the secret is in the quality of the table! Modern stuff won't take it!