Thread: Harris bipod query

Harris bipod query

Hi folks
    Been thinking bout getting a Harris bipod but one of the ones that you can use from a sitting position also. Think it's 13" to 27". But could be wrong
    Anyone use this size? Is it "useable" stable ?
    Or not worth bothering with? I'm just thinking it might work better than faffing bout with sticks

Sauer/paul

Oxfordshire, Wiltshire, Berkshire....and Sutherland
    View my Gallery (19)View my Gallery (19)
    Paul

I have been using that bipod for the last 10 years, initially on my .308 but currently on my .243. For stalking down South I find it useful for sitting/kneeling shots. It's on the rifle constantly, but I still use sticks for standing shots. The legs don't foul on the moderator when folded, at least they don't on the mods I've got.

It's a very usable size if you need to shoot over long grass or crops and for sitting/kneeling shots I think it's hard to beat. Sitting with your back against a tree or fencepost, with the rifle on the bipod, is pretty much the same as shooting off the bench. You just have to figure out how often you'll be taking those type of shots as to whether it's worthwhile you having it on the rifle.

I also use it up North for the annual trip stalking, but to be honest it can be slightly too long for most normal prone work, so I'm about to get a 9-13 model and will stick that on the .308. Personally I've found the low model of Harris bipod to be too short when shooting in heather/peat hags.

willie_gunn
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us to see oursels as ithers see us!

Paul

I like this bipod - http://www.harrisbipods.com/HB25S.html good from the prone position and can be extended a couple of inches if need be to get above the heather and grass.

but I find this one sits just too high when shooting from a prone position - http://www.harrisbipods.com/HB25CS.html