Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: How to improve groups further?

How to improve groups further?

I have been quietly working up a load for my .243
    I am self taught but thanks to the kind people on you tube that can be bothered to make some very good instructional videos I have learnt a lot and built up my kit over time.

Out of my last group of loads, loaded at 0.3 grain increments, the smallest 4 shot group measured 57mm. So I am definitely on the right track.

My question now is what do I do to shrink that group further?

I am using once fired factory brass (fired in my rifle) prepared as consistently as possible. So I don’t know how I could improve that aspect any more than I am already doing.

Regarding bullet seating, I have the bullet so it is just not quite touching the rifling.

Any advice would be very much welcomed.

Thanks in advance

Miles

Start playing with your oal. Start testing the same powder charge with the bullet seated further down into the case, I go down a half turn on the seating die until the group tightens up.
    Brian.

Just because you are paranoid, doesn't mean they aren't out to get you......

Miles

Thanks for your post, it prompts a couple of questions.

57 mm or 5.7 mm?
    What range are the groups being shot at? Off a bipod? With or without a moderator? With or without a rear bag?
    What size of groups are you getting from the original factory ammunition at the same range and shot with the same setup?
    What target do you use?
    What brand of brass are you using?
    What powder and bullets are you using?
    What is your brass prep process? Do you neck turn? Are you using bushing dies? Full length resize or neck size only? Due you sort the brass by weight? Do you sort the bullets?
    You mention seating off the lands, by how much? 10 thou, 100 thou?
    Do you have a local mentor who has sat and looked over your shoulder at your brass prep, loading and load testing?