Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Advice please ??

Advice please ??

Hi all as I am new to reloading I think I have dropped an almighty bollock??
    I have reloaded 20 cases with 95 grain SST Hornady heads.I have started at 4 off at 37 grains 4 off at 37.5 grains 4 off at 38 grains 4 off at 38.5 grains and 4 off at 39 grains,
    off Hogden Varget.
    Having looked after I loaded them (stupid I know ) the Hogden site states 33-35 grain max
    now what do I do with the rounds I have already loaded ??my first thought was to pull the heads and start again,if I do this will I have to neck size the cases again.
    thanks in advance for any advice.
    Seems I like learning the hard way.
    The rifle is a Sako 75 with a 1-10 twist in .243.

Quote Originally Posted by 177landy View Post
    Hi all as I am new to reloading I think I have dropped an almighty bollock??
    I have reloaded 20 cases with 95 grain SST Hornady heads.I have started at 4 off at 37 grains 4 off at 37.5 grains 4 off at 38 grains 4 off at 38.5 grains and 4 off at 39 grains,
    off Hogden Varget.
    Having looked after I loaded them (stupid I know ) the Hogden site states 33-35 grain max
    now what do I do with the rounds I have already loaded ??my first thought was to pull the heads and start again,if I do this will I have to neck size the cases again.
    thanks in advance for any advice.
    Seems I like learning the hard way.
    The rifle is a Sako 75 with a 1-10 twist in .243.
    No just pull them , should not need to resize.

At least you checked before you tried to fire them!
    Next time cross check everything first - preferably using two different sources of information.eg. the powder mfr's data & Richard Lee's book. That way you will pick up on any mistakes before you load.
    As for what to do with the ones already loaded - Definitely pull the bullets & empty the cases thoroughly - If it was a compressed load some powder will probably be stuck inside the case.