Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Buttlo calls and muntjac

Buttlo calls and muntjac

Hello to all.

Just a quick one.

will a buttalo call work all year round with muntjac or is it really only during the roe mating time.

Im new to all this but trying to learn so if its a silly question then please forgive me.

all the best

Phil.

Hi Phil,
    Not a silly question, in my limited experience the butttlo call will work all year round with muntjac

Cheers Will

buttolo

they work all year round but they seem to soon get wize to it
    only when the last tree has been felled,the last fish caught and the last river poisoned will man realise he cant eat money

I have seen it done and was amazed at how they responded....though saying that have seen it tried on other occassions and they failed to respond.

thanks for that gents.

I have had the one that almost knocked the rifle over it came in that fast and hard. stopped it at 35 yards away in the end. not looking at shooting to many, just the one of two a year to put in the larder.

i tested the call on a few roe at night when i was shooting foxes, it was only testing, nothing else, it amazed me how well they ran in to us, stopped at 25 yards and walked around us. they must known how safe they are as i will not be shooting at any of this group but it was good to see the reaction.

thanks again for your input gents.

all the best

Phil.

those bellows type squirrel calls work on muntjac

Quote Originally Posted by activeviii View Post
    Hello to all.

Just a quick one.

will a buttalo call work all year round with muntjac or is it really only during the roe mating time.

Im new to all this but trying to learn so if its a silly question then please forgive me.

all the best

Phil.
    From the sound of your posts and your location you will also have roe in the area that you have muntjac.