Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: how can i go about improving these groups??

how can i go about improving these groups??

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	untitled.bmp 
Views:	105 
Size:	157.6 KB 
ID:	9677Attachment 9676Attachment 9676Hi guys im very new to reloading and have only loaded 40-50 rounds so far, I am having a bit of a problem finding the best C.O.L for my sako 75 in .222. Basically all the literature i have to hand says the max col for .222 with the bullets im using is 2.130" however the ogive of the bullets im using will not touch the rifling until set at 2.210" (Hornady v-max 40 gn) i have also been trying to use nosler ballistic tips but due to the design and much further back ogive i cant get them anywhere near the rifling. The max i have tried it a col of 2.180 however being boat tailed bullets this does not leave much contact area between bullet and case i have posted some pics of the groups which are by no means bad i would just like them better? any ideas on this would be very appreciated as i dont really know what to try next.
    Last edited by james19306; 12-10-2011 at 19:10.

James

For some reason I can't see your pictures. However, the bullets need to be seated so that the neck of the case is holding them securely. Secondly, they need to feed from your magazine. I did a load recently with the bullets seated 148 thou off the lands. I would recommend you find a seating depth that works in your rifle, then tweak the powder. As it's a small case, measuring the powder becomes a little bit more critical. Once you have found a powder weight that gives good results, try moving in/out in 4 thou increments.

Good luck. JCS

are those 1" squares?
    IMO you could spend loads of time attempting to get better when you could probably just stop

3 inside an inch will never be replicated in the field with wind and howling rain up your back or leaning on a gate post and will kill everything you point at (assuming you point in the right place)