Left Handed Rifle in 30-06 or 7x64

Heym SR20

I have just stumbled across this forum and it looks very useful.

I currently use a left handed Heym SR 20 in .243 - very accurate with RWS 100gn (clover leafs with three rounds) and is fine for roe and hinds. I have on my ticket space for a .30 calibre and am thinking of the 30-06, for use on Reds up in the hills and also overseas on plains game in Africa and boar on the continent. I have been mulling this over for a couple of years now, but have yet to commit.

Since deciding on the 30-06, I have found out that 30-06 as a military calibre is illegal in France, and since I have in laws in France, France is a likely destination, thus it makes 30-06 not a good choice.

My 2nd choice is thus the 7x64 - fast and flat with 140gn bullet, but capable of shooting 178gn for boar and bigger stuff in Africa.

As to the choice of Rifle

1) Have the Heym rebarralled to 7x64 by Border barrels- it has a long action so can handle the cartridge - but it it is a lovely rifle and I don't want to b.... it up

2) Buy an off the shelf Sako 75, Remy 700, Ruger 77 or Tika T3. But don't particularly like any of them. I could go up to the Sauer 202 - but not sure of the safety in the trigger guard. Mauser M03 is nice but expensive.

3) Alternative is to build a custom rifle around a left handed action - either an old Sako if I can find one, or to import (and have a friendly dealer who will do so) a controlled round feed action or barrelled action from either Montana Rifles - http://www.montanarifleman.com/, or if the gods favour me www.rifleactions.com (more expensive but do a beautiful modern rendition of the mauser / winchester mod 70.

Any body any thoughts

Hi

I use the 7x64 in a Sauer. Excellent hunting caliber and the reloading components are easy to access. Ammunition also easy to buy in Europe.