Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: PRVI 7mm 140 grain BTSP bullets.

PRVI 7mm 140 grain BTSP bullets.

I don't know if these bullets are available for reloading in the UK but they are a bit of a novelty here. They are inexpensive and from my limited experience, seem to do the job both in the accuracy department and in the field.

I recently did some reloading of my mannlicher-stocked Mauser 98 in 7x57 using these bullets over my favorite 145 grain loading of H-4831. The loads grouped about 3/4" to roughly the same point of aim as the Speer Hot Core 145 grain I have been using for 30+ years. I was pleased as these bullets are half the cost of the Speers.

Yesterday evening I took a walk along a fence line north of town and came across a group of mule deer some 130 yards away on a hillside. I took a rest against the 20 mph winds driving snow and rain and planted a bullet squarely in the lungs of the largest of the does as she stood broadside. She bucked, trotted 10 or 12 yards and fell over, sliding downhill and leaving a visible blood trail in the grass. Upon arriving at the kill (had to cross a fence line) I saw that she was the biggest doe I had ever shot, without question. We estimate she went better than 150 pounds dressed. When I rolled her on her back to dress her out the blood poured out of the exit wound. The lungs were pulped. After field dressing her I took her to the rural butcher where I skinned her in preparation for the locker. The bullet made a pinky diameter hole going in and a thumb sized hole exiting with little to no meat damage.

I am very pleased with these bullets so far. I am off to South Dakota this week and will be taking the 7x57 along as one of my rifles. I hope to give it another test on whitetails.~Muir

Factory rounds over here are cheap plus I've used the cases for reloading without any problems. Velocity in 6.5x55/140g is low and a bit variable but accuracy good. Entry/exit wounds as you describe.