Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New to reloading - ideas for working up a load.

New to reloading - ideas for working up a load.

Hi,

I have a Parker Hale Scout in .308 and want to work up a load for it. So far it shoots about 1.125" with sako 123g; about the same with privi 150g, slightly tighter with 150g winchester and for some reason under 1" with some russian steel case fmj rounds 145g (6.90 per box)?

I'd ideally like to work up both a deer and a fox round.

I'm new to reloading so any advice on working up a load is greatly appreciated.

Oh, I am constrained to 150g bullets (hornady sp) - buy 100 hold 160 on fac; unless there are any bright ideas for buying more bullets in smaller quantities for load development.

Thanks for taking the time to read.

OSS

All bullets that are the least bit suitable for your weapon can be made to shoot reasonably well so there is no harm in buying 100 at a crack. If you don't have a manual yet, pick up Richard Lee's "Modern Reloading" and READ it. Even is unabashed plugs for his own equipment. There is a huge amount of good info in that book. More than some people realize.~Muir

Ok although not mentioned in Hornady's 7th Edition I have found that the Hodgdons H335, H380 and BLC-2 powders to work well in the .308 and it seems Speer in their #14 manual concur. Speer don't list the H380 and they got the best velocity from H335 out of the two (H335 and BLC-2). Please be aware that muzzle flash can be more noticeable with ball powders especially at dusk and first light.

Now the reason that your Scout 1300S rifle likes the milspec ammo is probably because it was aimed squarely at the Practical Rifle crowd who would have been likely using such ammunition.

Hodgdons #26 manual gives this for those powders with 150 grain bullets:-

H-335 start = 42.0 Grn max = 45.0 Grn

BLC-2 start = 45.5 Grn Max = 49.5 Grn

H380 start = 47.0 Grn Max = 51.0 Grn