OK My first load ! .308

Trapper

Right :rolleyes:
I shot some test groups in october , from 45gr to 49 gr ,reloader 15 powder 150 gr norma rounds ,using SAKO once fired cases trimmed and great to go .cci primed . RESULT was 47gr best performance !. I have re loaded 30 rounds to this spec! .
DO I USE A LANYARD , for my first rounds ! As I would like my bits intact for xmas!. or go with my gut instinct that all will be well!.
Thought !LANYARD! BUT i HAVE TO START SOMEWHERE !
This may be a dickhead post to some !! but how did you start!.
Regards Trapper , (twitching and eager to go ) :lol:

Do you mean you plan on operating the trigger with a piece of string? If you've shot 49gr of powder before now,then 47 sounds very middle of the road,so I don't see the problem.
I'm not saying I'm an expert,but if the load is less than tested,then that is going to be safer in the chamber pressure side of things.

If I remember correctly Trapper the results you got from your first reloading attempt were cock on and looked like you could shoot the b******s off a knat with that middle group.
Go for it mate ( but I have never reloaded so it might not be the right thing to do)

Jonathon

DL + Jonathon
DL I see what you mean , just my confidence taking a whirl!.
Johnathon , swampy as my wittness I shot well , 47 gr was my best grouping . but we all strive for that I just want to get the best result for my reload and safely!.If I am gonna join the big boys I better know what the ferk I am talking about.
Trapper

Trapper,

It sounds as if you are having your first swim without your armbands on, your first go unsupervised. :D :D

You worked up to this load, you know it works and is safe for your gun, and according to Alliant Powders own site for a 150 grain round you are well within the recommended limits.

Go for it, and use the lanyard to tie of the ankles of your trousers, just in case :eek: :eek:

John