Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: shooting further than normal

shooting further than normal

after a glorious morning on saturday, first proper frost. new piece of land. i have a question.

how to train (if thats the right word) myself to be confident shooting longer distances. obviously you cant better regularly going out with your deer rifle and putting rounds down range but in my world thats not an option. i have a good air rifle which does improve my shooting when i practice in the garden. also have a .22 lr and fairly easy access to land to practice on. i am fairly new to stalking and have only had 7 deer so far. i know some of you guys and girls wouldnt hesitate at a shot from a soild high seat at 200 yds but i was happy to see them walk on this time.

although its early days i get the feelling from what we saw saturday that the fallow will present themselves further away from my usual shooting distance. normal shooting distance is from say 30 to 70 yards (as close as i can get). the new piece of land has a good double high seat in a position that affords safe shots to 250 yards. were the deer presented themselves was safe from the high seat but questionalbe if on the ground to get to a shootable position. the deer stayed out of the frost and about 125 to 200 yards away. (very sensible).

just as a foot note. both my friend and i saw a fox at 150 yds and both said we wouldnt hesitate at shooting it so why the hesitation at deer

any advice gratefully received

regards pj

I don`t think there`s too many out there that would be comfortable with shooting deer out past 200 ish yards. You will get to know your own comfort zone.
    Practise on paper targets at various ranges out to 200 yards and see how you get on.
    The main thing is what ever live quarry you are firing at deserves a humane death.
    https://www.justgiving.com/John-Slee/
    "He who kills sow with piglets empties the forest of boar" My neighbours dad on new years eve 2011.