Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 6.5x55

6.5x55

can anyone tell me if the 6.5x55 cal is a good cal for shooting a 1000 yards as i would like to use it for target shooting.

No it is totally **** for shooting at 1000 yards, a 6.5X55 has not won a major competition in the UK or USA for years to my knowledge, my mate used to shoot one and he used to load it so hot to try and compete with the 6.5X284 he had to hammer the bolt open.

Now I have wind up all the Swede owners, I will reply properly, firstly I am no expert and there are plenty of F-Class shooters about that will give you specific advice and this site is perhaps not the best one for advice so try this one, most of the best UK 1000 yard target shooters can be found there:-

UK-Varminting.com

I guess it depends what you want to do, if you already own a rifle in this calibre and just want to try shooting at that range at something informal then it will be fine, but then also will just about any other calibre of stalking rifle in 6.5, 270, 7mm, if that is what you own. 308s can be at their limit with the bullet going subsonic at that range if you don’t know what you are doing.

The most important thing is to learn to read the wind first and learn to readthe wind second and thirdly lean to read the wind. If you’re looking to build a competitive 1000 yard rifle then big 7mm cartridges are ruling the roost at the minute 7mm WSM being typical with 180gn VLD bullets although in the USA 6mm cartridges using 115/117gn VLD bullets doing well.

ATB

Tahr
    Last edited by Thar; 14-12-2011 at 11:15.

It's not so much the cartridge, it's the rifles chambered for it. It is a hunting cartridge these days. The 6.5 Hornady Creedmore is a new comer to the long range game and ballistically, not much different than the 6.5x55 but it is built in superior rifles. Rifles built for long range shooting.