Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Advice pleas on FAC Air rifles

Advice pleas on FAC Air rifles

Hi

At work at the moment I use a brno .22 for shooting rabbits. It is so useless, that if I threw it at the rabbits, it wouild have more effect!!.

We are looking at a FAC Air rifle to replace it, Does anyone know what's on the market and ifso which ones are any good?? ( I don't know much about them and I'm not sure if I have asked this question before!)

many thanks

bb

What makes you think a FAC rated air rifle will do the job better than a 22lr? What is wrong with the BRNO, their 22 lr are always excellent in fact yours in the first I have heard of that is no good. Can you give us a bit more info about the BRNO's performance.?

John

I would like to know how a Brno .22 could be useless against rabbits myself! My Dear Cousin JayB called me on this post as he knows that I have been using a Brno #2 for 28 years now, with both iron sights and scopes, and have had nothing but praise for it. With it, I have killed more game than I can recall ranging from field mice to large (and aggressive) feral dogs. With a change of ammunition it will handle anything within reasonable scope for a .22LR. I recently used it for testing some new ammunition for Aguila out of Mexico because I knew it was such a steady, reliable performer. I'd sure like to give your rifle a once-over.

If you are thinking of a .177 calibe air rifle I can only tell you that in my limited experience with an RWS at 1000 fps, the killing power is in no way comparable with a .22 LR; even with "hunting" pellets. They just bled off speed and energy too fast. I think you might again be disappointed. ~Muir

Hi

Our rifle is a brno CZ 452-2E ZKM we are using Dynamit Nobel subsonic 2.6g-40gr with a Tasco 3-9x42 scope.

In the past we have tried Winchester subsonics, but they were the same. basically there umph in the rifle, 1bullet will not stop a rabbit at 25-40yds.