First Deer

While waiting to for my FAC variation for a deer legal rifle I decided to do some paid stalks to gain some experience as I'm new to stalking and have a lot to learn. I completed a DSC1 through BASC about two years ago, the course was run at Calton Moor Farm owned by Mike Dickinson, so I decided to ring Mike to arrange some stalking. The first couple of outings we drew a blank although we did see a number of reds, and you don't need to shoot anything to enjoy an outing because you can still learn a lot.
Last Wednesday I arrived at Mikes and we kitted up to off on a stalk. On arrival on the ground Mike decided we should stalk into a wood where we had seen some reds on a previous visit. We were heading for a place about half a mile into the wood where there were signs that they had been feeding on holly bushes. It took us about an hour to get there moving slowly stopping, listening, watching and then moving on a few more paces. There was plenty of indications of where the deer had moved through the wood on their way to the fields to feed. When we arrived at the spot I could see where they had nibbled back the bushes and shrubs, a good chance of seeing some then.
In position Mike said due to the wind direction, if any appeared they would either be on the track off to our right where we could see about 80 yards, or directly in front of us on a slope peppered with low bushes.
It was weird standing there, what was going through my mind were articles I'd read or stories I'd heard of deer that appear out of nowhere like apparitions. How could this be I was standing there and amid the silence and could hear and see every movement, be it bird or squirrel. I would surely see or hear anything before it got anywhere near to our position.