Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Fox hunting views?

Fox hunting views?

Obviously fox hunting has been banned for a while now and I'm just wondering what way people on here view it? I am a chicken farmer and have shot a fair few foxes, I tend only to shoot them when their causing a problem and as we only have 40 acres I take a couple a year. I know as well as anyone that they can sometimes be little bast***s but I have to say I would not like to go out to our fields and never see a fox as they've all been shot. My question is do we think hunting and killing foxes with hounds is really a humane death, I know most people including me do not like to see an animal hit with a poor shot and go through any kind of suffering until it eventually dies. Would hunting with hounds also be acceptable for small deer species as well? I'm not really against fox hunting and have attended many hunts in the past, it's a great tradition. Although I have to say these days the more I think about it I'm just not sure whether I agree with the end result or not. I know that when I look to some of the past farming practices i do find some of them a little cruel and would not employ these management systems today and I fear I may just be starting to think of fox hunting in the same way. Thoughts??
    Last edited by james19306; 18-02-2012 at 14:55.

Quote Originally Posted by james19306 View Post