Pre DSC 1 course???

I'm pretty new to all this - so for me i feel that doing one is a good idea (going to bunwell wood shoot for one in april). I guess those with a little more experience might go straight for a DSC1 course, but i felt the need for he pre course to build my confidence!

Just thinking is it a good idea to go on one of thease courses?? Or would it just be a bit of a ramp up for the DSC1??

I'm going for a stalk soon but also going to have some range time before the stalk to practice for the dsc1 shooting test I'm also doing one of the online training courses and hope this should be sufficient for me to pass my dsc1

Save your money. Read and remember the course manual and you'll pass no problems. Get some range time in for the shooting and your be fine. DSC1 is an entry level course. There's nothing you can't find out that's on the dsc1 that you won't find already in books etc.

No need. You can study the material yourself, or just get someone to send you the answers ;) (sorry).

I did assessment only. Been shooting rimfires for a year but had taken 4 shots with a centrefire rifle before the course and passed easily first time.

It's very straightforward.

Hi,
The more experienced stalkers may have been lucky to start off with bags of confidence or forgotten what it was like starting out ;). However as a recent noob I did a BASC pre-DSC day and really enjoyed it. I agree that it can seem like a lot of money, but it was great to go over agin the basics of ballistics and optics, as well as some legal stuff. It had been donkeys' years since picking up a rifle, and was a really good environment for asking 'stupid' questions. It also gave me something to talk about with the FAO; who knows it may have helped in demonstrating committment to safe shooting.

Hi all,