Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ruger #~1 anyone have any experience of these?

Ruger #~1 anyone have any experience of these?

I took a bit of a gamble and picked up a Ruger #1 B Sporter, 22-250 cal, nice timber, 26" barrel. It looked great and the price was right, based on the collective wisdom of this site, am I likely to have bought a pup or a peach?

Quote Originally Posted by Stover Rover View Post
    I took a bit of a gamble and picked up a Ruger #1 B Sporter, 22-250 cal, nice timber, 26" barrel. It looked great and the price was right, based on the collective wisdom of this site, am I likely to have bought a pup or a peach?
    I have some experience with them. I've rebarreled several No1 and No3 Rugers over the years and owned a few. How accurate it will be is difficult to say. There have been large articles written about accurizing Ruger No1 rifles. Author, Frank d'Haas wrote quite a bit on the subject in the 1980's. The problem -provided the barrel is of a good vintage (Ruger made a run of seriously crap barrels in the 1970's and eighties before they started contracting them out) is the way the foreend attached to the barrel. There have been numerous suggestions to a quick fix; the most prevalent being a small rubber washer around the draw-down screw. A more radical fix is to cut the mainspring hanger for a threaded stud and screw the foreend right to it, leaving the barrel floating. I did this with my .223 heavy barrel No3 and it was a real shooter.

How the Rugers are these days, I can't say. They are a beautiful rifle though, and I do admire them.~Muir

I have one in .243 and I love it!