Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Skinning "Tripe" knife.

Skinning "Tripe" knife.

One of the best tools I have (and there are many!) is known as a Tripe Knife. It looks like a boning knife with a blunt 'bullet' tip, and is sharp on the inside curve i.e the shortest side. The one I have is made by F.Dick of Germany, but this one is similar:
    http://www.awsmith.co.uk/item.asp?id=51591
    The bullet tip pushes with ease between the skin and flesh without damaging either, and the blade then slices open the skin effortlessly. It's a bit like a gut hook that actually works and never gets clogged with hair! It opens up leg skin so quickly it has to be seen to be believed!!

Tripe knife

Hi

Thats a good idea - I can see that it would work well, just shows that butchers know their stuff!

Daemon

Funny! I just received my tripe knife from AW Smith this morning and skinned and butchered a fallow doe this afternoon. I'm just a novice stalker but I've skinned a few deer in my time. I have to say using this knife does not half speed up the job. I'm planning to carry it in my stalking kit because I'm sure it will be the ideal tool for gralloching.

reynard

How are you going to get into the animal without a sharp tip to puncture the skin?

Once you are there fine, i can see this working, but cant see the benefit over a gut hook in the field.

Re: reynard

Quote Originally Posted by dieseldan
    How are you going to get into the animal without a sharp tip to puncture the skin?

Once you are there fine, i can see this working, but cant see the benefit over a gut hook in the field.
    The inside edge is sharpe, pinch the skin and slice it, job done!

Re: reynard

Quote Originally Posted by dieseldan

I’ve tried various gut hooks and while most work to some degree, I’ve never been totally happy with them.

Many will work fine on Roe or small Fallow, but struggle to cope with the skin in necks of rutting Fallow bucks or Red stags where they seem to clog up so to speak.