Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Thermal Imaging for use in Stalking

Thermal Imaging for use in Stalking

I dont know if anyone read the recent article in Sporting Rifle in regard to using thermal imaging cameras in deer management. I wonder if anyone had any views on the use of these devices in deer stalking. I am a relative novice to stalking and my first thought was that this kind of technology would make things too easy and therefore potentially damage the experience and skills that are gained from doing things the proper way. However on further thought I feel that rather than damage the experience it could in fact enhance it given that the technology would allow you to use your time much more effectively and not waste time in high seats, hides and laid up waiting for the deer that never comes. If the technology works and you can in fact more easily locate deer you might still get to pick up the traditional skills as you would potentially still need to stalk into the deer? Does anyone have any strong opinions or thoughts on this ?

If anyone would like to read the article I can send a link to it

I can understand how you came to the thinking that it would save time by not having to sitting in high seat what have you, but think of everything your missing out on?!? The other wildlife, the serenity, the peace and quiet! Not to mention the required patence which will weed out some of the people who arn't best suited to the sport.

If you are talking about using thermal imagine then are you on about stalking at night time?

Anyway the use of NV etc is illegal on deer, I don't think this includes spoting devices though but I await correction.

Anyway stalking is far more than putting the cross hairs on a deer and pulling the trigger, it's about getting out there in the thick off it.

I can see no place for a thermal imagining tool in the average stalkers tool box, contractors maybe.