Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tight chambering

Tight chambering

Hi folks

as stated in previous threads i am new to reloading.

I have just purchased a lee delux reloading die set.

It comes with a collet neck sizing die, full length resizer, and a seater die.

When full length sizing, (following the instructions given), i am finding that shutting the bolt is tight.

When i just neck size everything seems fine.

Any advise guys would be really appreciated.

Cheers.

Ally

I had the same problem with my 6.5x55 and I backed the die off a half turn and it did the trick. But, that anecdote aside, you may want to take a fired case and measure the expansion ring, the diameter at the shoulder and case length and compare these to a case after FL sizing. A trick to measuring the "cone"of the shoulder and it's relative position is to find a short section of tubing that will slip over the neck of your empty case to rest on the shoulder, then use a vernier caliper to measure from the end of your case to the end of the tubing. Write that down and compare it to cases that have been FL resized and those which are neck-sized only. IT really doesn't matter the length of tubing as long as it's square on both ends and is of a diameter that lands it on the shoulder of the intended case. I used a empty, FL resized and trimmed 38 Special case as a quick look one time....

Anyhow, the measurements should tell you a lot.~Muir

Don't know if this helps but... When I started out reloading I had some problems with chambering some of my reloads and it turned out that the die was somehow managing to push the area where the shoulder meets the body out a little. The difference was nearly impossible to measure but it resulted in the cartridges not chambering fully as this "expanded" area around the shoulder/body junction was sticking in the chamber preventing the cartridge from cliding fully home.

Hi there,

how did you get over this problem mate and did you find out the cause?