Thread: Very first deer dog? Where do you start?

Very first deer dog? Where do you start?

So don't want to hijack any other threads so here goes, I'm a youngster starting to get into deer stalking most of my days are payed so I don't need a dog as of yet but in the near future will most likely need one and all these threads have really got me interested but where do you start? A total novice to dog training except as for a pet where do guys like us start? Which books videos or is it a case of getting a trainer to show me? All help great fully appreciated.

David.

choose a breed that suits your lifestyle ie large breed (lab) or small (teckel)

Quote Originally Posted by trouble View Post
    choose a breed that suits your lifestyle ie large breed (lab) or small (teckel)
    Do not buy a dog till you have some need for it otherwise it just get waisted but read all the books on this subject you can. There is a list elsewhere on this website.

Or you could go to any organised tracking days to see how it's done , talk to handlers , the person who may be teaching, but as said earlier wait watch and learn read every book you can before you buy. Do not get a dog until
    you are sure it is the right breed for you for your cicumstances.

Hi David,

You have started on the right foot by asking questions, on this site there are a few very knowlegable people, ( ABOUT 6 PEOPLE THAT I LISTEN TO) sorry i dont mean to offend anyone but have a look on a recent thread how many people on hear have a fully trained deer dog and you will know what i am talking about.