Ballistic tips v's partition

Simon

I've seen a couple of comments elsewhere on this forum about ballisitic tips.

I've been using them for a couple of years and like other forum users - will never go back to anything else for the stalking I do which is predominantly fallow and roe.

Last weekend as the light was fading fast, I followed a walking roe doe through the scope. It eventaully stopped and I took the shot. I'm ashamed to say that it was too far back and was really a gut shot. However she went straight over with the bullet tearing large holes in the liver.

I'm convinced that I would have had a long night tracking a wounded deer if it weren't for the choice of bullet. I'm not saying that it's the choice of crap shots! I'm conservative with my choice of shots, so am usually able to acheive good shot placement. But the tips do provide that extra 'insurance' which we could all do with from time to time...

I'd be interested to hear other memebr of the forums opinions on ballistic tips.

I'm very cautious about there use as I've a deer shot with them were the've been shot in the chest (classic heart shot) just behind the front leg and exited throught the gut after bouncing around in the chest cavity. Is this a one off?