Thread: I'm thinking about reloading, should I?

I'm thinking about reloading, should I?

Before the handgun hand in I used to reload for all my pistols and rifles (apart from .22RF and .22 Hornet).

After the hand in I lost interest and had a change of occupation that didn't really leave me time for reloading.

But lately I have the time and am thinking about reloading again. Luckily I didn't hand in or sell any of my equipment I passed it on to an uncle who still has it.

My question is this.

Is it still worth reloading or has the manufacture of factory ammunition caught up?

Hi Steve,
    i'm fairly new to reloading but in my limited experience factory ammo hasn't caught up unless you are willing to pay for premium match grade. With std 100gn soft point factory rounds my .243 was around an inch at 100yds, with reloads I can now clover leaf the group off a bipod,probably better off a better rest and I could shoot straight! Both are adequate for my stalking but I enjoy the aspect of tuning the round to the gun and for me its added another aspect to my shooting. I'm currently working up a 60gn hollow point round which at the moment is just capable of a clover leaf.

depends on a number of factors. Reloading is cheaper if you shoot volume and you can develop a more accurate load. if you only stalk a dozen times a year and dont shoot targets then its not worth it, most rifles with factory ammo will shoot accuratly enough for british stalking.

depends on a number of factors. Reloading is cheaper if you shoot volume and you can develop a more accurate load. if you only stalk a dozen times a year and dont shoot targets then its not worth it, most rifles with factory ammo will shoot accuratly enough for british stalking.

SD Regular