Thread: bedding a rifle

bedding a rifle

Ive been using a couple of CZ 601s for a couple of years now and up to now no issues. The 243 I have never done anything but stick a scope on and shoot and its consistent and really accurate.
    The 308 was very accurate but recently was spraying the rounds about a lot, I just got a new scope and mounts so assumed the problem was one or the other. I replaced the mounts from millet (horrible mounts that look like they came out of a cracker) to hilver. I would have done this anyway due to the poor quality of the millets but it made little difference. I then discovered that the front stock screw was loose so I tightened it up and groups went down to 1" ish at 100 (the gun previously shot better).
    problem is that the initial shot goes slightly right of the main group (from clean or dirty barrel). I am thinking that this is a stock fit issue?

Question is, if I glass bed with floating barrel would the fore end have enough rigidity to avoid flexing into the barrel negating any benefit? what about bedding the action and the barrel channel giving total contact to end of stock?

The site below should answer most questions about stabilising stocks and bedding stocks and whether your rifle needs this treatment. Have a look and see but it may be cheapest to try taking any accumulated copper out of the barrel first to see if that makes any difference. Nathan is a good lad and generally responds to questions quickly.

http://www.ballisticstudies.com/Know...allistics.html

http://www.ballisticstudies.com/Reso...+Compound.html

Bob