Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Any help advice much appreciated !

Any help advice much appreciated !

Hi there , I've Been shooting rifles for ten years and I like to think I'm allright at general vermin control being a farmer is part job part hobby .I shoot foxes n rabbits over about 2000 -3000 acres of arable , grassland and woodland . I'm extremely keen to get into deer stalking and I've gotten a few hundred acres of roe rich land approved . I shoot a .308 . I'm new to this game and so far this season I've had one successfull stalk out of 5 which I'm quite happy with

Basically I'd really appreciate your best tips and advice , once I get so I'm more confident I'd like to try my hand at some of the other species but at the moment it's mainly roe .

Know the ground and you'll know the deer.
    Get out as much as you can at varying times and match your routine to their routine.
    Below is a link to my website.
    Quad sticks

Get DSC 1 and get experience and onto level 2! Very very handy!

Thank you , I struggle to get my head around deer habits , I'm used to shooting foxes and therefore never bother during daylight hours , whereas deer are always there , you just have to find them , am I right in thinking they are most active at dawn and dusk as that's when I've been doing most of my stalking

This is what I was advised when I first started stalking....Move little, look a lot!

I like going out after it has rained to look for fresh slots. That way I can concentrate my efforts on areas that the deer have been recently.

First and last light are key times, so go out before first light and if you are stalking in the evening don't go until it is too dark to shoot.

But most of all enjoy yourself!

Best of luck,
    Peri

Quote Originally Posted by Peri View Post
    This is what I was advised when I first started stalking....Move little, look a lot!