Thread: Loch Lomond Roe

Loch Lomond Roe

Just been out for a walk with the girlfriend round Loch Lomond. There was no wind and it was about 20:00 so I was thinking this was prime deer spotting time. Climbing up a path onto an opening covered in bluebells I was hoping to spot a deer running off after hearing us. Turned out to be a lot better. As I got to the top of the hill I woke a Roe Buck, he slowly got up and had a bit of a stretch and began to browse. I'm pretty sure he could see us but just carried on eating, we walked around him, he wasn't bothered, and got within 5 metres of him. The midgies were biting and girlfriend was getting bored so we started walking away talking at a normal level and he was still wasn't bothered.

I'm pretty new to deer stalking but I reckon he's about 3 years old, he's def a 6 pointer and you can see he's got his summer coat down to the shoulder and then still got the winter coat onwards. What you guys reckon, am I close?

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0094.jpg 
Views:	91 
Size:	353.7 KB 
ID:	15696Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0274.jpg 
Views:	79 
Size:	723.1 KB 
ID:	15697
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMG_0095.jpg  

Did he look well. It's not natural to get that close to roe. Even ones that are used to seeing an hearing humans will move away to a safe distance.

Quote Originally Posted by 6.5/284matt View Post
    Did he look well. It's not natural to get that close to roe. Even ones that are used to seeing an hearing humans will move away to a safe distance.
    I think he looked awright but thats the first time I've seen a Roe that close. I reckon a lot of people walk up that way but like you say it's not natural.

Looks a bit out of sorts in the last picture but then again so do I when I have just been woken up ! Where abouts on Loch Lomond was it, I only ask as I stalk up there with a firend who's a keeper.

Quote Originally Posted by David T View Post