Lamping Rabbits from a Tent - Any Thoughts/Advice?

a1baz

Afternoon everyone!

I've been thinking it might be fun to spend a night lamping bunnies from a tent and wondered if anyone had any thoughts/advice.*

I occasionally lamp a particular field from a vehicle using a .22. There's normally about 3-6 rabbits in there but only get the chance of 1 or 2 before they scarper. *The plan is to pitch a tent in the gateway of the field with some netting over the top and lamp the rabbits from the tent until the rabbits stop coming or I get sleepy. I'll then wake up just as the sun's coming up and bag a few more before breakfast. I might even pile the bunnies up at the top of the field and see if Mr. Fox comes to visit.*

The field has a wood running alongside which I hope stocks enough bunnies to keep a steady stream of them coming out. However, I've never done this type of rabbiting before and wonder whether any will venture out after the 1st few shots have scared the 1st bunch back into the wood.*

I have a non-FAC air rifle, .22lr, .17 hmr and .223 at my disposal (all*suppressed), I usually favour the .22 for lamping rabbits due it being a good compromise between range and noise, however I'm open to suggestions if people think that more or less range will be necessary due to how wary of the tent/shots the bunnies are likely to be. *

Any thoughts or advice very much appreciated!

Tried that 40+ years ago, didn't work as we made so much noise getting up and undoing the varrious zips. May work if you leave it up long enough for them to become accustomed to it, however you will need to remember the prevailing wind direction and be v v quiet.

Good luck

D

Just hide shooting, but from a tent, no difference. If you camo the tent it will work just as well.

This method has been very effective for me in some areas.

Using a moderated .22 I don't think you'll scare them away.