Taking my rifle on a shooting holiday to Canada

Seanpaul

Chaps,

I'm going to Canada in September and want to take my .300 wm & ammo with me. I have a port of embarkation on my firearms cert for the rifle. I have had correspondence with the department of small business services and they weren't a massive help. What do I need to do this end and the Canadian end?

Many Thanks

Sean

Chaps,

I'm going to Canada in September and want to take my .300 wm & ammo with me. I have a port of embarkation on my firearms cert for the rifle. I have had correspondence with the department of small business services and they weren't a massive help. What do I need to do this end and the Canadian end?

Many Thanks

Sean

Ask the provincial area your going to for there requirements ,at this end phone the police at the airport that way they will tell you the requirements this end hopefully with the minimum of disruption to yourself .

Seanpaul,

I know that in British Columbia you just go up to Customs, pay your $25 and get a temporary permit. This allows you to buy ammunition and rifles:)

Stan

Hi Sean,
I haven't travelled to Canada before with firearams, but many times to the USA with both shotgun and centre-fire rifle.

You will need an airline approved case which will need to be aluminium framed with suitable locks. I have never bothered to take ammunition as certainly in the USA it is as easy as buying baked beans in the UK, and whilst you can carry ammunition up to 5kg I believe in a seaprate secure container, it was easier to buy over there. You can just turn up to a range, pay $8 and zero your rifle on the new ammunition. Is there any obscure law that prevents some calibres from being used in Canada just as in France - knowing there is a strong Frencg connection in Canada?