Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: recommendation needed

recommendation needed

Hi All

Well after 20+ yrs of shooting targets/vermin it is time to get in to stalking.

I have the relevant condition on my FAC, the right firearm and moderator and the right gear. I have also attended, and passed, a DSC1 course last weekend.

What I now need is some practical experience, ie some acompanied stalking!

I am based in the North West so can be in Yorkshire, Derbyshire, Cheshire within a couple of hours drive. I also have a caravan near Holker so have access to the whole of Cumbria and surrounding the areas.

There is so much knowledge and experience on the forum, hence me joining, that I would rather visit somewhere that has been recommended by a member rather than "go it alone".

So, has anyone got any ideas of places to visit, people to use, contacts etc for a total novice to get started with?

Cheers

Russ

(replies by email/PM if you prefer)

Hi Russ

I would use the caravan and go out with Laurie Walton or his son Alistair at Thirlmere, that'd get you off on the right foot.

See http://basc.dotadmin.com/content/thi...talking_scheme

Good luck!

Nick

Thanks Nick

Unfortunatley, I am no longer a member of BASC so the Thirlmere option is a no-go for me. It does look a very good deal

Thanks also to the members who have PM'd me regarding a couple of estates in Cumbria who provide Roebuck stalking. I will email them tomorrow and get a few "irons in fires"

SD Regular
    Unfortunatley, I am no longer a member of BASC so the Thirlmere option is a no-go for me.

I would be ashamed to admit that I shot live quarry and was not a member of the BASC. Does this mean that you have NO INSURANCE too?

Quote Originally Posted by enfieldspares

I would be ashamed to admit that I shot live quarry and was not a member of the BASC.
    And your point is?

Are the BDS, NGO, Countryside alliance etc ...
    not exceptable to be a member of, if you shoot live quarry