Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dsc 2,too early??

Dsc 2,too early??

Ok,having viewed the recent posts about DSC 2 in two days etc which seems to get the old passions raised!!I am a novice stalker,less than a years experience,passed my DSC 1 a year ago,am registered for level 2,should i be pushing on to get level 2 done?I can see the argument both ways that I am inexperienced etc but also see real benefits of having it ie opening up more opportunities to stalk etc etc......I am more than happy with the gralloch side of things having a slaughtering backround, fieldcraft comes in the form of many years of stalking rabbits and foxes etc,what would you do or have you done??thanks,martin

any practice as assessment or training can only help prepare you and push you forward, practice makes perfect and all that

Martin

You've noticed a bit of 'heat' around the DSC1 and 2 topics then?

In truth, it is something under constant review within DMQ as well. I'm not sure there is an ideal answer - and certainly believe a one size fits all solution is never very effective.

You have registered so have your portfolio and the various advice notes, portfolio etc. Re-read those and look carefully through each of the performance criteria on an ICR. For belt and braces consider some of the additional questions an AW could ask you. If you are comfortable with every aspect and confident of correctly answering additional questioning - then you are ready.

The Portfolio is the definitive source of supporting information for assessment of part 2. Meeting the criteria contained within it is what is required. There is a certain sector that seems to be arguing for PCs beyond that laid down in the ICRs - arguably a Super DSC2 I suppose. I can only attribute that to the old chestnut of redoubling effort after losing sight of one's objective! The Portfolio, the ICRs and the PCs are what they are. It is not a graded assessment - you either meet them or not at the time of Assessment.