Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: An avenue into Defence deer management

An avenue into Defence deer management

I am currently serving in the Royal Marines commandos. I have been enjoying roe and red stalking for about ten years, however I would like to try and aquire more land to stalk on. As I live near Salisbury plain I have been talking to the range staff and apparently you can apply to join part of a defence estate management plan.

I was just putting it out there to ask if anybody has any contact
    Detail because I am
    Having difficulty in finding out who to talk to.

I am trying to find out myself, I know someone who works in mod land . Hoping to get more information off him. Will let u know of I find out anything. Will have to get my mod certificate done though

Hi Try EMcC, I think he knows all about this stuff.

Regards,

Check out the Report from the Services Branch BDS in the Summer 2012 edition of the BDS Deer Journal, which has the DDM Secretary's contact details etc.

I looked it to it when i was still serving and one of the stipulations was that you needed to have more than 3 years left to serve.

Daz
    "Smoke me a kipper - i'll be back for breakfast"

Used to be an ex army guy called Merrick doing the forces range deer management but that may have changed.

Blog Entries
    View my Gallery (39)View my Gallery (39)
    I think you will have more joy doing the lottery,

speak to eddy Mc on here, he was doing it for years, and now the rules and goal posts have moved a fare bit since he left,

i was going to try and see what chance there was of doing it when i first got posted to Tidworth,

NEVER MIND DEER STALKING , back in 85 just to have a shoot with shotguns you needed to have 6 guns and be able to jump through loops at various heights and know the Queen in person, drive a Range rover have a pinky ring jack Russel and speak with your Balls in your mouth to even got on the plain,(EVEN THEN YOU COULD HAVE A 6 MONTH WAIT TILL YOU GOT ON,)