Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Do you cover up totally

Do you cover up totally

When out do you cover up totally! Ie full face vail gloves! I do know when rook shooting the second they see you they turn and bugger off! Do you feel deer would act the same!

I do, but then I have to move over some very open ground so anything that helps is good. Hide the big white face. But (and I am no expert) Most animals tend to spot movement rather than colour.
    I can speak in-depth and with great knowledge about most subjects until some bugger who actually knows what he is speaking about opens his gob .

Quote Originally Posted by speedystu View Post
    When out do you cover up totally! Ie full face vail gloves! I do know when rook shooting the second they see you they turn and bugger off! Do you feel deer would act the same!
    my view, 80% camouflage, 20% field craft

Quote Originally Posted by patrickt View Post
    my view, 80% camouflage, 20% field craft
    Yes that's my rule of thumb!

In the winter yes cover as much as possible,but the summer 80% cover and use the natural cover to do the rest

i cover up, especially my face,hands and shiney head. i tend to go into stalk mode and feel more confident like this.

wellies, greenish trousers, a button down in sombre colours and a wide brimmed hat (stetson), that's me for stalking. I'd rather risk scaring a deer or two than sneak around like a sniper...and to be honest, I never really scare the deer off either, I just walk really slowly and use cover appropriately.

Sorry to disagree, but the fieldcraft should be 80% (or higher) Camouflage can not make up for bouncing round the countryside like a bull in a china shop.
    Birds are a different matter, deer can be approached using cover and dead ground, in the open steady stealthy movement will get you there.
    I have never covered my face, except when the midge are intolerable, and have never had a problem that camouflage would have solved. Deer notice movement.