Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Adam from Herefordshire

Adam from Herefordshire

Hi,

I'm Adam and I live in west Herefordshire. I'm very new to deer stalking but I think I'm in danger of becoming obsessed!

I have Fallow, Roe and Muntjac on my permissions across Herefordshire and South Shropshire. Most of my stalking experience has been with mates, using their rifles on their land, but I have been shooting Munties with my .223Rem on my land.

I've just completed my DMQ1 and I'm looking to build up some 'trained hunter' stalking experience over the next few months before getting to grips with my DMQ2 in the Autumn. As soon as the DMQ cert' arrives in the next couple of weeks, I'll be putting in my variation for a deer calibre rifle - probably a .270Win as I have a chance of a serious bargain locally, have some knowledge of that calibre's foibles and can maybe avoid divorce by not buying another expensive rifle Hopefully I can offer some stalking on my permissions in return for some support from a more experienced stalker on the finer points of lymph node identification and assessment!

Much of the deer stalking around here is tied up with the Deer Initative people and therefore seems a bit of a clique and difficult to access...(perhaps that's just a local thing?).

I'm already finding this forum really useful and I'm seriously interested in the opportunity on offer for some stalking experience on Highland reds, having spent a lot of childhood on and around the Attadale estate nr Strathcarron.

Cheers,

Adam.

new

Hi Adam,welcome to the site,ive not long got into stalking myself so ive no real experience to offer,but you'll find lots of guys that can on the site,im not far from you in malvern,good luck with your leval 2.
    Andy

welcome

Hi Adam

Welcome to the site

There are lots of decent people on the site who will be happy to help - ouch, .270