help to identify this round please

Not got a book handy but the measurements look about right. I think the numbers are dates, so a Frankford .30-06 round dating August or March (is it an 8 or a 3?) 1919 possibly?

I'm by no means an expert, but I just had a quick squint in the Lee manual. Lists COAL as 3.340, cal as .308, and rim diameter as .473 for 30-06, so some of those sound a bit far out even allowing for variation in measuring, batch etc.?

Proportions look wrong for 7.62x51, would say that's it is a good chance as has been said it's 30-06 Springfield
Link here to a page that has almost identical markings to yours,as CSL says Frankford Arsenal

its f a 31. thats on the base and they are in a 5round clip my m8 dug up hundreds of them in a field along with some other stuff

Chances are that they are for 1903 Springfield and the stripper clips aid with speed loading,M1 Garand has a totally different clip that holds 8 rounds.
The picture shows the clips if you click on the image

View attachment 17393

Bugger he types faster than me:confused:

as far as i am aware its never been us army ground or even uk. the ordanance was buried about 18 inches down in a field which is near an ex scottish open prison in angus lol

Chances are it was for use in the US Rifle of 1917 that we commonly call the P-14. The Home Guard got a shed load of them during WW2. Of course the P-17 is also a .30-06.

I guess this is near the former HMP Noranside. I was wondering if the prison was on a former miliatry site, but it seems that Noranside was built as a TB hospital in 1913-14.

This does not, of course, have any bearing on the idea the ammunition might be a small Defence of Britain strategic dump.