Thread: What to look for in a pair of Bino's - Apart from your quarry!

What to look for in a pair of Bino's - Apart from your quarry!

I have trawled through a fair few threads but not really managed to get my answer so I have posted but apologise if this has been covered many times.

I have a pair of Miranda 7-21x42 bin's left me in a relative's will. (I didn't get the 350,000 he gave to a charity or I wouldn't be asking this question )
    Clearly they are old (I'm guessing '70's) but wondered if they would be suitable for stalking. (I haven't had chance to go out with them yet, I am a newbie hoping to get out on local fields and woodland where distances would be a couple of fields at most I'm guessing?

What sort of range in UK would most stalkers expect to pick up an animal before setting off to close in on it or monitor its behaviour? This distance is far less than the open highlands I'm guessing? - maybe I should start a second thread for this?

If I'm choosing a pair, what are the things I am looking for?
    Durability,
    Waterproof-ness?
    Clarity
    Range
    Range finder?

If I know what to look for before I go out I can assess them. I'll then pop into my local store and ask to look through some current models.

Thx

With my bins I often pickup animals at around the 1km mark.

This is lowland stalking in Hampshire, I have a few spotting areas where I know I can see them from if they are out in the open.

Distinguished Member tartinjock's Avatar
    Durability, goes without saying, the extreme conditions you may have to experience while using them
    Waterproofness, goes with out saying
    Clarity, You generally get what you pay for, if you are buying to maximise the 2 listed above, clarity should be an inbuilt feature.

Range and Range finding.........Not particulary important, especially for stalking, get practice at judging distance, it does become reasonably easy and relatively accurate to within 20-30m.