Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Red letter 3 day hunt on medal roe bucks

Red letter 3 day hunt on medal roe bucks

Well this last weekend turned out to be one of those events that will possibly be never repeated, or if it is it is unlikely to be for a year or two.

My Finnish clients arrived on time at Gatwick and within an hour of arriving we were in the local pub enjoying a meal and talking over the plans for their four day hunt with me. Both had booked to take a good buck with me on my major lease in West Sussex. The area has been under a strict management plan put in place by myself to improve the over all quality of the heads on the ground, which has the potential to show strong straight heads which are typical West Sussex.

I knew of 6 very strong heads, one of which I have been keeping an eye on for a couple of years. The weather was supposed to break and the temperature to rise, but after the atrocious weather we have all been suffering from over the past 2 months I was just praying that the weather man was right!

Along with my 2 Finnish clients I also had a member off the SD site for two stalks, who had visited with me before. I decided to put him in a high seat on a seperate farm where I had two bucks appearing on a fairly regular basis. I knew of one big Roe that appears from time to time on the farm, although the total acerage of the farm is only about 150 acres I usually take about 3 to 4 bucks a year, and up to now had culled one buck of very poor quality.