Where to get first stalk

Gully

Hello, I posted earlier in the 'Introduction' section to see if I could get any suggestions of where I can get an introduction to stalking/deer mgmnt in my local area (SW Herts). 'Predatorcontol' suggested I post in this section so please see my original post below; any help would be appreciated.

Hello, I'm on here to introduce myself. I'm new to this game, having got into shooting a couple of years ago. I currently shoot small ground game and am in a local syndicate for pheasants. I like the social aspect of bird shooting but have come to realise I'm happiest when out walking with my gun and dog taking the odd one for the pot. I've got a 7 month old GWP that I'm trying to train up at the moment.

My mind has turned to stalking and I'm currently reading up the DSC1 literature and have booked myself on one of the Pre-DSC training days with BASC in June, mainly to get more experience with CF rifles and also to help my FAC application when I go for it.

I've been looking for someone to take me on a trial stalk. I've contacted a few of the companies that I've found on the internet but have found it hard to find someone who will call me back or seems interested in taking me out, even though I'll be paying. It seems they're more interested in those who want to pay big money for a trophy. Family commitments mean I can't travel too far from home (Herts/Bucks borders).

I wonder if anyone on here can suggest somewhere where I can get some experience - I don't mind not shooting on the first occasion and I don't mind paying.

Have you tried the basc scheme in thetford?

95quid - you'll get a chance to shoot a cf, and if you pass the test a chance to shoot a deer.

Des Green is a legend - he was the guy who took Gordon Ramsey out and has been a professional stalker for about 200 years - just think of him as a bit like Yoda