Stalking equipment for hill stalking

Hales Smut

Hallo from Belgium . I am a Belgian roughshooter , who shoots almost 100 % over spaniels . When I started shooting I did a bit of high seat "shooting " on roe deer in this country. Highland deer stalking is something that fascinates me already a long time . I plan to make a stalking trip to Scotland by the end of the year . I am mostly intrested in winter hind stalking . I think that the weather in the highlands can be severe at this time of the year. I would like your advise on the best equipment : jackets , trousers , boots ,etc ....
As I have to start from zero , my roughshooting gear wouldn't suit at all , I can as good buy good equipment from the start . I noticed on a few DVD's that more and more stalkers use neoprene lined wellies .
What about muck boots ? A friend uses them for 2 seasons 5 days a week for everything exept rough shooting and tells me he never had such convenient and warm boots. I heard that the Sportchief Aquatex jacket is the Rolls Royce of stalking jackets . True ?? What about Kammo , Deerhunter , Seeland , Fjallraven , Harkila , Jahti Jakt , .... ?
I am not a camouflage man , I more like solid green , but if camouflage is better I wouldn't mind wearing it .
I will post a similar item in the rifle department .
Thanks.

Welcome along!!

Any clothing from Harkila would be where i put my money!

If your budget can stretch to it, it is worth buying and if looked after it will last you many seasons.

Swazi Thar is another jacket worth looking at, for extreme wet weather which is frequent when hind stalking, in particular on the west coast!!!

As regards boots, i would go for lace-up variety as you will need the ankle support. There are lots of good boot makers, I would consider Meindl, Alt-Berg, that sort of thing.

Cammo clothing helps but is not essential. You could always go down the other route and have a tweed shooting suit made and you could use that for your driven bird days too!!